Cornerstone News – Crime News Daily, Accurate News in Nigeria 247 and Super Eagles

2019 FIBA WCQ: Diogu headlines Nigeria’s 12-man Roster… expects tough Opposition

D’Tigers captain, Ike Diogu, headlined Nigeria’s 12-man roster for the second phase of the FIBA 2019 World Cup qualifiers and he expressed cautious optimism ahead of the first game against Uganda.

D’Tigers head Coach, Alex Nwora picked a diverse team with several new faces and a blend of the old guard including Uzoh Benjamin and Mbamalu Bryant.


Nigeria open their campaign – in the qualifiers to be hosted in Lagos – on 29 May against Uganda and afterwards play back to back games against Rwanda and Mali on the 30th and 1st of June.


Per Queen John [ACLSports] Diogu tempered the expectations and Nigeria’s chances of another winning streak as was the case in the first phase.


“We have to take it a game at a time, so at first we want to focus on Uganda. We want to take it one game at a time because any team here is capable of beating us, but as long as we stick to what we do well I think we’ll be good,” said Diogu.


Full 12-man roster:

1. Ike Diogu
2. Omoerah Sado
3. Braxton Ogbueze
4. Nwora Jordan
5. Agada Caleb
6. Okosun Augustine
7. Mehinti Tosin Idowu
8. Deji Akindele
9. Uzoh Benjamin
10. Mbamalu Bryant
11. Zanna Talib
12. Emenago Obinna

The post 2019 FIBA WCQ: Diogu headlines Nigeria’s 12-man Roster… expects tough Opposition appeared first on Brila.

Related posts

Musa resumes training with Kano Pillars

Philomina Ngozi

Mourinho Delivers Supplies To Elderly People Amid Coronavirus Crisis

Philomina Ngozi

Ferdinand: Ighalo Will Score Goals For Manchester United

Philomina Ngozi

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy