Cornerstone News – Crime News Daily, Accurate News in Nigeria 247 and Super Eagles
cornerstone special

PSC appoints Egbetokun DIG in charge of South West zone

PSC appoints 2 DIGs, promotes 12 CPs to AIGs

The Police Service Commission has approved the appointment of AIG Egbetokun Olukayode Adeolu as a Deputy Inspector General of Police and will be representing the South West Geopolitical Zone of the Country in the police management team.

DIG Egbetokun will be replacing DIG Johnson Babatunde Kokumo who retired on March 15 and was pulled out of the force few days ago.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 24 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 33 Deputy Commissioners of Police to substantive Commissioners of Police.
According to the spokesman of PSC, Ikechukwu Ani, “these appointments and promotions were some of the highlights of the 19th Plenary Meeting of the Commission which held in Abuja on Tuesday, March 28th 2023 and presided over by the Commission’s acting Chairman, Justice Clara Bata Ogunbiyi.

“The Commission also approved the promotion of thirty seven Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners, one hundred and eighteen Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners, 316 Chief Superintendents, eight Assistant Superintendents of Police to Deputy Superintendents and 61 Inspectors of Police to Assistant Superintendents 11.

“The Commission considered and approved the confirmation and promotion of 4,449 Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP) 11 to the substantive rank of Assistant Superintendents of Police, ASP 1. The Commission also approved the promotion of other 300 senior Police Officers of different ranks.

“The Commissioners of Police promoted to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police are; Rabi Umar former CP Force Education; Mathew Akinyosola, AIG Police Mobile Force; Jonathan Towuru, AIG Zone 6, Calabar; Sylvester Abiodun Alabi, AIG Zone 2; Akande Sikiru Kayode, AIG Zone 11 Osogbo.

“Also promoted are Abimbola Adebola Shokoya; Christopher Adetokunbo Owolabi and Yusuf Chiromawa Usman, CP Workshop.
Others are Yekini Adio Ayoku, CP Kaduna state Command; Olofu Tony Adejoh CP Eastern Ports, Calabar; Aliyu Garba, Force Headquarters; Idris Dabban Dauda, CP Force Headquarters; Yusuf Ahmed Usman, CP Admin, operations, DIG Operations; Haladu Musa Ros-Amson, AIG FCID, Alagbon close, Lagos; Babatunde Babata Ishola, Director Staff College Jos; Alexander Nengi Wannang, Commandant Police Detective College Enugu; Ari Mohammed Ali, CP Delta; Mamman Sanda Umar, CP Nigerian Ports Authority, Lagos; Sadiq Idris Abubakar, CP FCT; Emeka Frank Mba; CP Ogun; Benjamin Nebolisa Okolo, CP Bayelsa Command; Oyediran Adesoye Oyeyemi, CP Ondo Command; Babaji Sunday, Commandant Police College Maiduguri and Arungwa Nwazue Udochukwu, CP DFA FIB, Force Headquarters are now substantive AIGs.

“The Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to Commissioners include; Mohammed Bunu; Zubairu Abubakar; Fom Pam Joseph; Emuobo Fred Ekokotu; Garba Musa Yusuf; Fasuba Akinyele Olabode; Uzuegbu Kanayo; Garba Ahmed; Nemi Edwin Osigoboko Iwo; Hayatu Kaigama Ali; Nwonyi Policarp Emeka; Salman Dogo Garba; Musibau Omolabi Ajani; Dungus Ali Munguno among others.

“The Commissioners of Police and Deputies today, appeared for an interactive/ promotion interview, a condition for their consideration for promotion.
Justice Ogunbiyi, the acting Chairman of the Commission urged the newly promoted Officers to rededicate themselves to the service of the nation.”

She said the Commission will continue to ensure that Police promotions are regular and motivational to the Officers.

Related posts

Fidelity Bank CEO Bags Champion Newspapers’ Banker of the Year Award

John Paul

NPF Cybercrime Crime Centre partners Hungarian Police

John Paul

Novelty purses, pocketbooks, handbags are fashion trend

Philomina Ngozi

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy