NBBF reschedules 2019 Women’s Basketball League Tip-off

Posted On 18 Jul 2019
Comment: Off

The NBBF has announced a “slight change” in the commencement date of the 15th edition of the Women Basketball League.

The league earlier scheduled to start on Saturday, 20th of July will now tip off on the Tuesday, 23rd of July according to the new directive.


In a letter addressed to all participating clubs by the NBBF Secretary General, Afolabi-Oluwayemi Olabisi, the slight shift was to allow for renovation, branding of all venues, work on fixtures amidst other logistics.


The federation apologized for the inconvenience the recent shift in date could have caused teams, players and other stakeholders.


The home and away format will still be adhered to as teams have been divided into four groups in line with the traditional Atlantic and Savannah Conferences.


First round of matches will be between, Tuesday, 23rd and Monday, 29th of July.


The Liberty Stadium in Ibadan will host 2018 league winner, First Bank alongside arch rival, Dolphins, Sunshine Angels, Ekiti Angels, Oluyole Babes and Ogun Babes.


In Akure, Delta Force, IGP Queens, MFM Queens, Coal City Queens of Enugu and First Deep Waters will fight for one of the 8 slots in the National Conference phase.


Zaria will play host to Taraba Hurricanes, Kebbi Angels, Adamawa Angels, Zamfara Babes, Exousia Angels, GT-2000, Nigeria Army Amazons and Kano based AHIP.


Nigeria Customs, Benue Princes, Plateau Rocks, Nasarawa Amazons, Blackgold Queens, Air Warriors Babes and FCT Wings will converge on Abuja.


New venues will selected as hosts of the second-leg (away games).


Eight teams (total of 16) will emerge to play the Conference phase before the National Final Four.

The post NBBF reschedules 2019 Women’s Basketball League Tip-off appeared first onCornerstone News Nigeria.

About the Author